The Museum of Drawings 25 years
On June 18, 1992, Scandinavia’s first – and so far only – museum of drawings opened in Laholm’s old Town Hall at Stortorget. Over the years the collection of drawings grew and the museum became increasingly overcrowded. Fifteen years later, 2007, Teckningsmuseet moved to Hästtorget and re-opened inside Laholm’s old fire station, which had been rebuilt and extended.
Since the re-opening, the museum has focused a bit more on contemporary artists, such as Owe Gustafson, Lovisa Burfitt, Magnus Bard, Ann Böttcher, Sverre Malling (Norway) och Julie Nord (Denmark). For each exhibition, Teckningsmuseet produces a short film about the artist. The purpose is to deepen the experience of the exhibition and in the long run build an art historical film archive. In addition to exhibitions, the museum also offers guided tours, workshops and educational programs for both schools and the general public.
Teckningsmuseet celebrated its 25th Anniversary on May 27, in connection with the vernissage of this summer’s exhibition – “The Great Exhibition of Swedish Illustration 1880–2020”. In addition to speeches and high-class socializing, we honoured the day by arranging two panel discussions about drawing and its history, present and future.
Cheers, Teckningsmuseet, we look forward to the next 25 years!